May 9th Deals

Today I had a good shopping day.  I find myself getting discouraged when i can’t get my total as low as I want it.  There will be an example of that on my deals today.  When I look at it I paid a dollar an item, something to be proud of…yet I think, I’ve bought much more than this before and paid less!  But when I want something so bad, I guess I am willing to pay more than to wait it out for the price to go lower.  Now on to todays deals:

Walgreens:

2 Colgate Total  4oz tubes of toothpaste 2/$6.  When you check out you get $4 back in rewards bucks.  Making it like you are paying $2 for 2 tubes of toothpaste.  I had a $0.75 off coupon from the Indy Star or Smart Source Shopper, making it 2/$5.25 before the register rewards or you could look at it as 2/$1.25.

After finishing that transaction I bought:

2 cans of pork and beans, 3 snack bags of Indiana Popcorn, 1 6 pack of propel water, 1 carefree panty liner package, 1 mitchum deodorant.  I used the Walgreens coupon found in their ad for the pork and beans making it a total of $1.00, I did not have a coupon for the popcorn, the propel was marked down to $2.98 plus I had a coupon for a dollar off I got out of the Indy Star last week, making it 1.98 for a SIX pack of propel.  I had a 99 cent off coupon for the panty liner, it is onsale for 99 cents making it free, the deodorant I used a coupon from the walgreens ad making the deodorant $1.99 and using a $1 off coupon I got out of this weeks Indy Star. Ontop of that, I used the $4 reward bucks I just got from the toothpaste making my grand total $1.36.  That number makes me feel really good!  But you can add to it the $5.25 I paid for the toothpaste and for everything above I paid $6.61. ( I look at it as had I bought all of this at Walmart I would have only been able to buy the deodorant and propel)

The shopping trip I was talking about discouraging me above, was at a walgreens across town:

Walgreens

3 bags of Quaker Rice Cakes clearanced for 55 cents.  I had a coupon buy 3 get $1.00 off

3 Family Size bags of Indiana Popcorn marked down to $1.99 each.  I had 3 50 cents off coupons. 

I paid a total of about $6.06

Kroger

All items are part of the Mega Ten event

2 boxes of Healthy Harvest Pasta .49 cents a box. I printed a coupon offline(find it in yesterdays post) for a $1 off two boxes.

1 propel water .69 cents.  I had a coupon for $1 off that I had saved from last weeks Sunday Star

3 bags of Quaker Rice cakes .89 cents a bag, I had a coupon for $1.00 off 3 bags from last weeks Sunday Star

1 carton Silk Almond Milk $1.99, I had a coupon for $1 off from a previous weeks Sunday Star

1 Jello Pudding Temptation $1.99, I had a coupon for $1 (link for coupon in yesterdays post)

2 24 packs of Nestle water. I had a coupon for $1 off from a Sunday star.

After all mega ten discounts and coupons I paid a total of $8.95!  I look at this as if I had shopped with no coupons at walmart I would have been able to buy the 2 waters and and a quaker cake.

Don’t get me wrong. I love walmart. But since using coupons I realize I should stay away from there!  Kroger doubles coupons that are 50 cents and under.  Walmart does not.  Walmart does not run these 10 for 10 or mega 10 events.  Walmart has everything so I end up in other sections of the store buying things I DO NOT NEED!  Now, I know I don’t need all of these Quaker Rice Cakes.  BUT I do not keep all of this for myself.  I have been giving some away, but if I wanted to I could keep it all and use it.  Summer is only a few weeks away and my kids can have BIG appetites! 🙂  I hope you have found this helpful! 

(oh! if you read last nights post I had thought I was going to pay a little over $7 at Kroger.  If you noticed, I changed up my purchases.  I needed to use the last quaker coupon I had before it expired and I pulled a powerade coupon to use earlier at Walgreens!)

For now, I have no plans of shopping in the next two days..but you never know…I am addicted!

Leave a Reply

