Small Town Service, in not such a small town

While I can’t sit here and tell you that you will save money shopping at Schwartz Bait and Tackle, in Noblesville, IN, I can tell you that you will receive the almost non-existent “small town service”.

While shopping, I needed to use my debit card.  As many small business’ do, I was required to purchase a minimum amount in order to use my card.  I told the cashier I would grab a drink from the cooler.  While there,  I grabbed a bottle of soda when I noticed an “old-time” Coca-Cola glass bottle.  I grabbed that as well and headed back to the cashier.  He had already checked me out including only one soda.  I apologized and went to return the glass bottle when I was stopped and told to, “take it, enjoy it, and stop back by and pay for it whenever I remembered”.

As much as I shop at chain stores and enjoy their discounts, I would NEVER hear that from one of them.  It was nice to shop in a “mom and pop” owned store and experience that friendly, trusting relationship that is missing from our communities these days!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 05:54:06

    This is so true!!! The sad part is, many of these “mom and pop” stores have closed down due to the economy.

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 13:13:09

    What a GREAT blog. Thanks for sharing Tosha. I totally agree and wish we had more places like that. =)

    Did you enjoy your soda?

    Reply

    • natoshac
      Dec 13, 2010 @ 14:31:30

      Amy,

      Thank you!

      I actually did not accept the soda! I didn’t want to be a reason they lost trust! The man kindly argued with me that if I forgot to pay for one soda it would not put them out of buisness and they had been doing this for many years, but I didn’t want it weighing on me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

